faux foodie


Aloo Gobi Instant Pot
April 9, 2017, 3:12 am
Filed under: favorites, Health, main course, Make'n'freeze, weeknight

I never thought I would cook Indian food I actually like! Every recipe I’ve come across for this dish contained the spice mix garam masala, which I despise. Finally, I decided to try leaving out the garam masala. I came up with this and IT IS AWESOME. I can’t get over the fact that I made edible Indian food! And in my new instant pot!! Easily doubles in my 6 quart IP.

Ingredients
  • 1 medium onion, thinly sliced (I buy chopped frozen and throw straight in)
  • 2 tomatoes, diced
  • 4 cups cauliflower florets (I buy a bag of frozen and throw straight in)
  • 1 large potato, peeled and cut into small chunks (I used a giant russet)
  • 1 tbsp cooking oil
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp coriander powder or seeds
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp ground fennel
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp salt
  • fresh cilantro for garnish
Instructions
  1. Turn Instant Pot to Saute mode.
  2. Add oil and coriander seeds. Sauté for 30 secs.
  3. Add onions and mix well; cook until soft.
  4. Add tomatoes, mix and cook for another min.
  5. Add the rest of the seasonings. Stir
  6. Add potatoes and cauliflower florets.
  7. Add 1/2 cup water (HIGH ALTITUDE-3/4 cup). Mix well.
  8. Put Instant Pot lid on with pressure valve to sealing. Cook on Manual (Hi) for 3 mins (HIGH ALTITUDE 5 minutes).
  9. Quick Release and stir gently. Check potatoes for softness. Cook longer if necessary. Garnish with cilantro.
  10. Serve hot with naan or jasmine rice (love using my IP as a rice cooker).
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

